Follow this link to go to the text only version of


NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Follow this link to skip to the main content
+ Contact NASA
About NASA button News and Events Button Multimedia button Missions button popular topics button MyNASA button
NFM 2012 4th NASA Formal Methods Symposium
NFM 2012 Home
nfm 2012 rollover for submissions page
nfm 2012 rollover for registration page
NFM 2012 travel rollover
NFM accepted papers rollover
NFM 2012 program rollover
NFM 2012 invited speakers rollover
NFM 2012 Local Information Rollover
NFM 2012 History rollover
Abstract and Title Submission Deadline:
December 11, 2011
(11:59pm EST)

NFM Paper Submission Deadline:

December 18, 2011
(11:59pm EST)
pdf version:

text version:

poster graphic
  NFM 2012 4th NASA Formal Methods Symposium header image
The NASA Formal Methods Symposium is a forum for theoreticians and practitioners from academia, industry, and government, with the goals of identifying challenges and providing solutions to achieving assurance in mission- and safety-critical systems. Within NASA, for example, such systems include autonomous robots, separation assurance algorithms for aircraft, Next Generation Air Transportation (NextGen), and autonomous rendezvous and docking for spacecraft. Moreover, emerging paradigms such as code generation and safety cases are bringing with them new challenges and opportunities. The focus of the symposium will be on formal techniques, their theory, current capabilities, and limitations, as well as their application to aerospace, robotics, and other safety-critical systems.
  • Formal verification, including theorem proving, model checking, and static analysis
  • Automated test generation and testing techniques for safety-critical systems
  • Model-based development
  • Techniques and algorithms for scaling formal methods, such as abstraction and symbolic methods, compositional techniques, as well as parallel and distributed techniques
  • Monitoring and runtime verification
  • Code generation from formally verified models
  • Significant applications of formal methods to aerospace systems
  • Modeling and verification aspects of cyber-
    physical systems
  • Safety cases
  • Accident/safety analysis
  • Formal approaches to fault tolerance
  • Theoretical advances and empirical evaluations of formal methods
  • Techniques for safety-critical systems, including hybrid and embedded systems
  • Formal methods in systems engineering

The symposium will take place at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott in Norfolk, Virginia, USA.
April 3-5, 2012.

There will not be a registration fee charged to participants. All interested individuals, including non-US citizens, are welcome to attend, to listen to the talks, and to participate in discussions; however, all attendees must register.

marriott hotel

Alwyn Goodloe
NASA Langley Research Center

Suzette Person
NASA Langley Research Center
Nikolaj Bjorner, Microsoft Research, USA
Jonathan Bowen, London South Bank
Univ, UK
Julia Badger, NASA Johnson Space
Center, USA
Ricky Butler, NASA Langley Research
Center, USA
Rance Cleaveland, Univ of Maryland, USA
Darren Cofer, Rockwell Collins, USA
Ewen Denney, NASA Ames Research
Center, USA
Dino Distefano, Queen Mary University of London and Monoidics Ltd., UK
Jin Song Dong, Univ of Singapore, Singapore
Jean-Christophe Filliâtre, CNRS, France
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Eric Goubault, CEA LIST, France
George Hagen, NASA Langley Research Center, USA
John Hatcliff, Kansas State Univ, USA
Klaus Havelund, NASA/JPL, USA
Mats Heimdahl, Univ of Minnesota, USA
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/JPL, USA
Joe Hurd, Galois, USA
Bart Jacobs, Katholieke Univ Leuven, Belgium
Kenneth McMillan, Microsoft Research, USA
Eric Mercer, Brigham Young University, USA
Cesar Munoz, NASA Langley Research Center, USA
Anthony Narkawicz, NASA Langley Research Center, USA
Natasha Neogi, National Institute of
Aerospace, USA
Corina Păsăreanu, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Charles Pecheur, Univ de Louvain, Belgium
Kristin Rozier, NASA Ames Research
Center, USA
Natarajan Shankar, SRI, International, USA
Oleg Sokolsky, Univ of Pennsylvania, USA
Sofiène Tahar, Concordia Univ, Canada
Oksana Tkachuk, NASA Ames Research Center, USA
Willem Visser, Univ of Stellenbosch,
South Africa
Mike Whalen, Univ of Minnesota, USA
Virginie Wiels, ONERA, France
Jim Woodcock, University of York, UK
Ewen Denney, NASA Ames Research Center
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley Research Center
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames Research Center
Klaus Havelund, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Gerard Holzmann, NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Cesar Munoz, NASA Langley Research Center
Corina Păsăreanu, NASA Ames Research Center
James Rash, NASA Goddard
Kristin Rozier, NASA Ames Research Center

usa gov logo

+ Freedom of Information Act
+ NASA Web Privacy Policy and Important Notices

get adobe reader

get adobe flash player
NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NASA Official: Suzette Person
Web Curator: Ray Meyer
+ Contact NASA Langley
+ Contact NASA
ast Updated: March 13, 2012