Second NASA Formal Methods Symposium

NFM 2010

Washington D.C., USA, April 13 - 15, 2010

Take Home

The NASA Formal Methods Symposium is a forum for theoreticians and practitioners from academia and industry, with the goals of identifying challenges and providing solutions to achieving assurance in safety-critical systems. Within NASA, for example, such systems include autonomous robots, separation assurance algorithms for aircraft, and autonomous rendezvous and docking for spacecraft. Moreover, emerging paradigms such as code generation and safety cases are bringing with them new challenges and opportunities. The focus of the symposium will be on formal techniques, their theory, current capabilities, and limitations, as well as their application to aerospace, robotics, and other safety-critical systems. The symposium aims to introduce researchers, graduate students, and partners in industry to those topics that are of interest, to survey current research, and to identify unsolved problems and directions for future research.

The meeting will be comprised of invited talks by leading researchers and practitioners, a panel discussion on the current status of formal methods, and more specialized talks based on contributed papers.

NFM 2010 is the second edition of the NASA Formal Methods Symposium, which started in 2009 and was organized by NASA Ames Research Center in Moffet Field, California. The symposium originated from the earlier Langley Formal Methods Workshop series and aims to foster collaboration between NASA researchers and engineers, as well as the wider aerospace, safety-critical, and formal methods communities.

Topics of Interest

Topics of interest include but are not limited to the following:

  • Formal verification, including theorem proving, model checking, and static analysis
  • Automated test generation and formal testing of critical systems
  • Model-based development
  • Techniques and algorithms for scaling formal methods, such as abstraction and symbolic methods, compositional techniques, as well as parallel and/or distributed techniques
  • Monitoring and run-time verification
  • Code generation from formally verified models
  • Safety cases
  • Accident/safety analysis
  • Formal approaches to fault tolerance
  • Theoretical advances and empirical evaluations of formal methods techniques for safety-critical systems, including hybrid and embedded systems
  • Formal methods in systems engineering

Welcome Opening Speech

  • John Kelly, NASA

Keynote Talks

Program Committee

  • Gilles Barthe, IMDEA, Spain
  • Jonathan Bowen, London South Bank University, UK
  • Ricky Butler, NASA, USA
  • Charles Consel, INRIA, France
  • Ewen Denney, NASA, USA
  • Ben Di Vito, NASA, USA
  • Jin Song Dong, U. of Singapore, Singapore
  • Gilles Dowek, Ecole Polytechnique, France
  • Matt Dwyer, U. Nebraska, USA
  • Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA, USA
  • Klaus Havelund, JPL, USA
  • Mats Heimdahl, U. Minnesota, USA
  • Gerard Holzmann, JPL, USA
  • Mike Lowry, NASA, USA
  • Josh McNeil, US Army, USA
  • John Matthews, Galois Inc., USA
  • Natasha Neogi, UIUC, USA
  • Corina Pasareanu, NASA, USA
  • Charles Pecheur, U. de Louvain, Belgium
  • John Penix, Google, USA
  • Jim Rash, NASA, USA
  • Chris Rouff, Lockheed Martin, USA
  • Kristin Rozier, NASA, USA
  • Wolfram Schulte, Microsoft, USA
  • Koushik Sen, UC Berkeley, USA
  • Natarajan Shankar, SRI, USA
  • Radu Siminiceanu, NIA, USA
  • Doug Smith, Kestrel Institute, USA
  • Luis Trevino, Draper Lab, USA
  • Caroline Wang, NASA, USA
  • Mike Whalen, Rockwell Collins, USA
  • Virginie Wiels, ONERA, France

Location and Cost

The conference will take place in the James Webb Memorial Auditorium at NASA Headquarters in Washington D.C. See local information for further details.

There will be no registration fee charged to participants. However, all attendees must register in order to participate. Attendees are responsible for making their own travel reservations. See travel information for suggestions on accommodation close the conference venue.

Further Information



  • Mike Hinchey, Lero-the Irish Software Engineering Research Centre, Ireland (Conference Chair)
  • César Muñoz, NASA, USA (Program Chair)
  • Ben Di Vito, NASA, USA (Local Organization)
  • Jim Rash, NASA, USA (Local Organization)


Curator and Responsible NASA Official: César Muñoz
LaRC Privacy Statement
Last modified: April 2010